NRS claims 94 per cent of UK adults read national newspaper or magazine monthly

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 10.07.25.png

Some 94 per cent of UK adults interact with national newspapers and magazines at least once month in print or online, according to the National Readership Survey.

This is based on its latest quarterly estimate of readership looking at print, desktop computers and mobile. Its figures are based on an annual survey of 32,000 adults over the year to June 2015 and on Comscore’s web and mobile readership data for the month of June.

All the main UK national newspapers are included in the survey as well as 33 leading national magazine brands.

Chief executive of NRS Simon Redican said: “The latest data shows the almost ubiquitous reach of published media, with 94 per of GB adults 15plus accessing our content.

“Advertisers have the opportunity to engage with 48.6 million adults every month across every platform, from print and PC to mobile and tablet.”

The Daily Mail remains the most reader national newspaper in print and online with some 29.5m readers per month according to NRS. The data suggests that it has nearly twice as many readers on smartphones and tablets compared with both print and desktop.

The Sun is the most read UK national newspaper in print. But when digital is taken into consideration it falls into seventh place in terms of overall monthly reach (print and digital) according to the NRS.

NRS does not include Sunday titles in its list of combined PC, print and mobile readership.

UK monthly national newspaper readership for year to June 2015 (NRS)


Title Net Print, PC and Mobile Total Total Print Total PC Total Mobile
  000s 000s 000s 000s
Daily Mail / dailymail.co.uk 29536 10366 9875 19651
Daily Mirror / mirror.co.uk 23322 6329 5259 16001
The Guardian / theguardian.com 22927 3906 9016 16260
The Daily Telegraph / telegraph.co.uk 21312 3808 8091 14418
Metro / metro.co.uk 17998 10342 2470 9183
The Independent / independent.co.uk 14456 2185 4555 10070
The Sun / thesun.co.uk 13472 11869 835 1961
Daily Express / express.co.uk 10372 2818 2352 6187
London Evening Standard / standard.co.uk 8868 5180 1649 3896
Daily Star / dailystar.co.uk 6278 2670 967 3155
The Times / thetimes.co.uk 5072 4314 391 725
Daily Record / dailyrecord.co.uk 3954 1229 683 2768
The Scotsman / scotsman.com 1706 368 583 964

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × five =

CLOSE
CLOSE