British Press Awards shortlists announced

The shortlists for most of the categories in the 2007 British Press Awards have been announced, following the completion of the first round of judging.

In the 17 individual and group categories for which the shortlists were announced today, The Guardian led all newspapers with 11 nominations.The Times and Sunday Times garnered 10 nominations each.

The shortlist for the highly-coveted Newspaper of the Year award, which was judged in an Academy-style voting system with more than 130 members, will be revealed in Press Gazette magazine this Friday, 2 March.

The shortlists for the Cudlipp Award and the visual categories – Photographer of the Year, Sports Photographer or the Year, and Cartoonist of the Year – will be announced on 6 March on

The judging panels, chaired by Press Gazette's editor-in-chief, Tony Loynes, and comprising 75 highly-experienced newspaper representatives, will meet for the second stage of the judging process where winners will be decided in a secret ballot vote following a round table debate.

Loynes said: "There has been a real sense that the British Press Awards are back as a pinnacle of journalistic achievement. For the first time in many years every national newspaper has entered. And consequently we have had more entries than many can recall.

"It's traditional at this point to say how high the standard of those entries has been but rather than mouth platitudes I would simply point to the number of categories in which the judges were unable to reduce entries to the desired shortlist. This has given the final judging round a bigger problem than before but it shows just how testing this process has been for some of the finest minds in British journalism. Need I say more?"

The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be hosted by Jon Snow at Grosvenor House on Monday 26 March 2007. Booking forms are available online.

British Press Awards 2007 - Shortlist


Scoop of the Year

Dan Evans News of the World McCartney Marriage Split
Insight Team The Sunday Times Revealed: Cash for Honours Scandal
Mazher Mahmood News of the World Foul Play: Sven's Dirty Deals
Stephen Moyes Daily Mirror John Prescott's Affair
Jon Ungoed-Thomas
& Robert Winnett
The Sunday Times Blair Gave Honours for Loans

Business & Finance Journalist of the Year

Chris Blackhurst Evening Standard
Liam Halligan The Sunday Telegraph
Ashley Seager The Guardian
David Smith The Sunday Times
Elizabeth Rigby Financial Times

Show Business Journalist of the Year

Fiona Cummins Daily Mirror
Victoria Newton The Sun
Rav Singh News of the World
Phil Taylor News of the World
Alice Walker The People

Columnist of the Year

Nick Cohen The Observer
Armando Iannucci The Observer
Boris Johnson The Daily Telegraph
Matthew Parris The Times
Jeff Randall The Daily Telegraph
Janet Street-Porter The Independent on Sunday
Polly Toynbee The Guardian
Janice Turner The Times

Supplement of the Year

Guides to .... The Guardian
How to Spend it Financial Times
Stella The Sunday Telegraph
Sunday Review The Independent on Sunday
Weekend Magazine The Guardian

Photographer of the Year

Shortlist to be announced on 6 March 2007.

Interviewer of the Year

Lynn Barber The Observer
Carol Cadwalladr The Observer
Robert Crampton The Times
Jan Moir The Daily Telegraph
Sarah Sands The Daily Mail

Cartoonist of the Year

Shortlist to be announced on 6 March 2007.

Specialist Writer of the Year

Martin Bailey The Art Newspaper
Felicity Lawrence The Guardian
Christopher Leake The Mail on Sunday
Sheila McNulty Financial Times
Jo Revill The Observer
Ben Webster The Times

Young Journalist of the Year

The winner of this award receives a £5,000 travel bursary presented by the Cecil King Memorial Foundation.

Ed Caesar The Independent
Bryony Gordon The Daily Telegraph
Paul Lewis The Guardian
Rob Sharp Freelance
Gordon Smart The Sun

The Hugh Cudlipp Award - sponsored by British Journalism Review

Shortlist to be announced on 6 March 2007.

Foreign Reporter of the Year

Patrick Cockburn The Independent
Rupert Cornwell The Independent
Robert Fisk The Independent
Martin Fletcher The Times
Hala Jaber The Sunday Times
Barbara Jones The Mail on Sunday
Christina Lamb The Sunday Times
Simon Parry The Mail on Sunday

Sports Photographer of the Year

Shortlist to be announced on 6 March 2007.

Sports Journalist of the Year

Matthew Engel Financial Times
Paul Hayward The Daily Mail
Paul Kimmage The Sunday Times
Ian Ridley The Mail on Sunday
Martin Samuel The Times

Critic of the Year

Nancy Banks-Smith The Guardian
Peter Bradshaw The Guardian
Craig Brown The Mail on Sunday
Tom Lubbock The Independent
Ally Ross The Sun

Team of the Year

The Guardian Investigations into BAE Systems
The Guardian World Cup coverage
The Sunday Times Cash for Honours
Sunday Times Magazine Seeing Is Believing campaign
The Times Iraq Team

Political Journalist of the Year

Kevin Maguire Daily Mirror
Matthew Parris The Times
Andrew Rawnsley The Observer
Simon Walters Mail on Sunday
Patrick Wintour The Guardian

Feature Writer of the Year

David Cohen Evening Standard
Rachel Cooke The Observer
Jean Rafferty Freelance
Michael Tierney The Herald
Christine Toomey The Sunday Times

Reporter of the Year

David Leppard The Sunday Times
Sheila McNulty Financial Times
Stephen Moyes Daily Mirror
Rajeev Syal The Times
Stephen Wright The Daily Mail

Front Page of the Year

How Do You Solve A Problem Like Korea? The Sun
My Affair: By Prezza Daily Mirror
Prescott at Work Mail on Sunday
The Bastards Got Me The Times
7/7 Anniversary Daily Mail

National Newspaper of the Year

Shortlist to be announced in Press Gazette magazine on 2 March 2007.


web tracker


Sign up for our free weekly digital magazine, Press Gazette Journalism Weekly, and daily newsletter
To contact Press Gazette with a story call 0207 936 6433
or email
To advertise, please call 0207 936 6764.