Guardian is London Press Club newspaper of the year

The Guardian has added the London Press Club’s daily newspaper of
the year prize to the array of gongs editor Alan Rusbridger has picked
up since his berliner size relaunch last September.

prize follows The Guardian’s triumph at the British Press Awards in
March and a string of specialist design awards. The paper was last
night named best designed newspaper in the European Newspaper Awards.

The Guardian spent £80 million on berliner size presses.

winning the British Press Awards trophy Rusbridger said: "We took the
biggest gamble this year and the biggest risk… so in a sense it's the
richest reward and I'm thrilled to have it."

The other London Press Club award winners are:

Sunday Newspaper of the Year – News of the World

Scoop of the Year – Robert Jobson from the Evening Standard

Edgar Wallace award for writing – Ian Wooldridge of the Daily Mail

Broadcaster of the Year – Caroline Hawley from the BBC

Business journalist of the year – Bill Emott, former editor of The Economist

Consumer journalist of the year – Jonathan Prynn of the Evening Standard

prizes were judged by Philippa Kennedy OBE, Robin Esser (executive
managing editor of the Daily Mail), Bill Hagerty (editor of the British
Journalism Review), Richard Lindley (television journalist and author),
Bob Satchwell (executive director of the Society of Editors), Jean
Morgan (formerly of Press Gazette), Donald Trelford (former Observer
editor), Mish Tullar (head of communications for British Gas) and
George Westropp (former chairman of the London Press Club).

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *