CPU names fellows to learn in Britain

The Commonwealth Press Union has awarded its annual fellowships to
young editors and senior journalists from Commonwealth countries by way
of a memorial to the founder of the CPU, the late Sir Harry Brittain

The scheme, which began in 1960, sees up to ten fellows
spending six weeks in Britain from 6 June to 14 July 2005, learning how
the British media functions and examining its political, economic and
social infrastructures.

The programme consists of visits to
national newspapers, communications and publishing companies,
Parliament, Commonwealth organisations, business institutions and
finance houses.

The fellows attend lectures on international
affairs by university lecturers and meetings are arranged with
international business and Commonwealth executives, as well as senior

This year’s visit includes a week trip to Northern
Ireland, hosted by the Northern Ireland Information Service and the
Northern Ireland Executive Information Service and a week in Manchester
on a newspaper tailor-made training course supported by the North West
Development Agency and Granada TV.

This year’s fellows are: Lee
McDougall, editor, The Coffs Coast Advocate, Australia; John Rolfe,
chief of staff, The Daily Telegraph, Australia; Rachna Rawat, senior
sub-editor, Deccan Herald, India; Namwaya Otsieno, senior investigative
writer, East African Standard, Kenya; Julie Middleton, senior writer,
New Zealand Herald, New Zealand; Funsho Aina, chief correspondent,
Punch Newspapers, Nigeria; Farhat Anis, editor – Weekly Page, The News
International, Pakistan; Alexander Rheeney, acting chief of staff,
Post-Courier, Papua New Guinea; Mapula Sibanda, lifestyle editor, City
Press, South Africa; Curtis Rampersad, senior reporter/editor, Trinidad
Express, Trinidad.

No comments to display

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *